
Application for a Special Beer Permit 
 

 
1. A Special Beer Permit is a beer permit for a special event allowing serving, 

selling, or dispensing of beer at a specific location for a period not exceeds 30 
days. 

 
2. To obtain a special beer permit, the following documents must be submitted to 

the Permits Office 3 days prior to the Alcohol Commission Meeting. 
 

a. A completed application signed and notarized. 
 

b. An application fee of $100.00. 
 

 
c. Background check – The Permits Office will accept background 

check reports from any agency that provides background checks in 
compliance with the Fair Credit Reporting Act including but not 
limited to TBI. 
 

d. Letter of permission from the owner of the property where the event 
will be held granting permission to the applicant to sell or serve 
alcoholic beverages on its premises. 

 
 

e. Valid State or Government issued identification. 
 

3.  Special Beer Permit holders shall be responsible for complying with Memphis 
Alcohol Commission Rules and Regulations and all relevant local, state and/or 
federal laws. 
 

4. Anyone selling or serving beer must have either a Beer Vendor Card issued by 
the Permits Office and/or  Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Server Card issued by 
the State of Tennessee.  The cost reimbursement or the Beer Vendor Card is 
$21.00 and it is valid for 5 years. 

 
If you have any question regarding the application process please call our office at (901) 
636-6711 (Monday – Friday 8:30 am – 5:00 pm) or via email at 
permits@memphistn.gov.  
 
Office hours are Monday – Friday 8:30 am – 4:00 p.m. 
2714 Union Avenue Extended Suite 100, Memphis, TN 38112 
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