FAQ'S

How do | register for a permit for the first time?
Click on New Account

Select permit type

Complete registration form

Submit registration

Record Account number and temporary password

| have registered for a permit how do | submit the application?

Go to Important documents

Select the correct application

Print application

Complete the application and return it to the Permits Office along with all required documents via
email, fax, or mail.

Include the account number on all documents

How do | pay for an application fee after registering?

Select Current Accounts

Enter the username (Account Number)

Enter temporary password (You will be prompt to change password)
Click Online Payment

| have submitted an application for a beer license, how do | get the yellow sign and notice to the
public?

The yellow sign and notice to the public will need to be picked up from the Permits Office located at
2714 Union Avenue Extended, Suite 100, Memphis, TN 38112.

I already have an account number but | do not have a password?
Click I forgot password

Enter account number

Click submit

A temporary password will be emailed to your email address on file

I do not have an email address on file how can my email address be added to my account?
Contact the Permits Office at 901-636-6711.

| have registered, paid, and submitted application now what do | do?
You will receive notification from the Permits Office once your information has been received.
I have more than one account number can | use the same password for each account?

Yes.

How do | get a handgun Permit?
Complete an application at any Full Service Tennessee Driver Center.



I am selling something on the street do | need a permit and if | do, where can | get it?
Contact Memphis/Shelby County Code Enforcement at (901) 222-8374.

Can | get a business license here?

The Permits Office does not issue business license. You can obtain a business license from Shelby
County Business Tax Office located at 150 Washington Suite 200. The telephone number is
901-222-3000.

My location is in the county and | am opening up a business and | would like to sell beer. Is this where
| come to get a beer license?
No. Contact the Shelby County Beer Board at 901-222-3026.

| am having an event in the street. Do | need a permit?
Yes, a Special Event Permit is required.

When does the Alcohol Commission meet?
The Alcohol Commission meets the 1% and 3™ Wednesday of each month.

How old do you have to be to sell beer?
You have to be eighteen years old to sell beer.

I need an electrical permit?
Contact Code Enforcement at 901-222-8300.

| am renewing my taxi, limousine, or carriage permit, what do | need to bring in?
A current background check that meets the Fair Credit Reporting Act

A copy of your current Motor Vehicle Report

A current approval letter from the company

A physical no older than 30 days if the physical on file is older than 3 years

| am a new driver and | need to get my fingerprints done?
Online registration is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week
Go to www.L1enrollment.com
Click on Tennessee map
Enter all required information:

Agency Name: Other

Applicant Type: Vehicle for Hire

ORI #: TN9207322
Follow instructions for location and payments

If you do not have access to the internet, you can call toll-free at (855)226-2937 to schedule an
appointment.

How can I file a complaint?

You can contact the Permits Office at 901-636-6711 or print a complaint form and fax (901-323-9913),
mail (2714 Union Avenue Ext. Suite 100, Memphis, TN 38112), or email (permits@memphistn.gov)
form.
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